Who's Who? | TwoVillageChurches

Who's Who?








The Right Reverend Helen-Ann Hartley, Bishop of Ripon.









The Revd. Canon Jonathan Gough, Archdeacon of Ripon and Craven.









The Very Reverend John Dobson, Dean of Ripon Cathedral and Vicar of St. John's Bishop Monkton, and St. Leonard's Burton Leonard.








The Reverend Sheila Murray, Associate Priest of St. John's Bishop Monkton and St. Leonard's Burton Leonard.


Bishop Monkton

Wardens:   Stuart Newsome and Sue Hargreaves

Deputy Wardens:   John Eden, Judy Hague, John Hobson, Sheila Parsons, Rory Richold, Maggie Wood

PCC Members:  Stuart Newsome (Lay Chair), Sue Hargreaves, Sue Riley (PCC Secretary), Maggie Wood (Treasurer), Clare Douglas, John Eden, Pip Garside, James Hobson (Safeguarding Officer), Sheila Kindon, Sue Short

Organist and Choirmaster:   Myles Hartley

Other Organists:  Andrew Kitchingman, Sally Haywood and Andy Murray


Burton Leonard

Wardens: Sheila Peacock and John Dawson

PCC Members:  Sheila Peacock (Lay Chair), John Dawson, Zita Branton (PCC Secretary), Jenny Burtwistle (Treasurer), Caroline Barr, Sam Crossley, Bridget Dawson, Louise Fields (Safeguarding Officer), Andrew Glover, Stephen Hornsey, Martin Mainprize, Derek Packer,  Lesley Slater, Liz Whapples.

Organists:  Stephen Hornsey, Roger Bishop, Andrew Kitchingman and Sally Haywood


Being part of a small church is very special and is something we rejoice in and consider a blessing in both communities, in the words of Carl Dudley in  "Effective Small Churches in 21st Century":

In a big world, the small church has remained intimate.

In a fast world, the small church has been steady.

In an expensive world, the small church has remained plain.

In a complex world, the small church has remained simple.

In a rational world, the small church has kept feelings.

In a mobile world, the small church has been an anchor.

In an anonymous world, the small church calls us by name."



If you would like to get more involved in either of our churches please get in touch with any of the people above or use the contact page on this website. We would love to have you join us.